Thursday, October 30, 2008

Goodbye to you!

Today marked the last day that I will take birth control pills for a while. Kevin and I have decided that it is time to start our family. This decision has come about after much conversation, praying, and reflection. I'm really excited about this because over the past few years I have actually shifted from not knowing if I wanted to have kids to thinking that I didn't want to have kids to now knowing without a shadow of a doubt that I want to have children.

I think my recent urging has come from several things. I found out a few weeks ago that one of my LS's from college is expecting her second child. I remembered how excited I was when she told me she was pregnant with her first. It was a over 3 years ago and I was just so happy for her. I had attended her wedding a few years prior to that so it was really neat to see a friend of mine get married THEN have a baby! She chronicled EVERY step of her pregnancy and I thought to myself...I can't wait until I'm at that point in my life to fully embrace a pregnancy. When I found out her wonderful news the a few weeks ago, my mind immediately went back to my thoughts surrounding her first pregnancy. The excitement and joy filled my heart and mind again because I thought to myself...I am now in the position to experience the same thing!

Well, who knows how quickly we will be blessed with a child. We are planning to wait a few months before actually "trying" in order to give my body an opportunity to adjust to life after the pill. I can't help but be extremely excited about the idea of motherhood.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Overwhelmed...

I've been experiencing some medical issues for the past month and half. I've had tenderness in my left side along with feelings of nausea and heartburn. I even had a stint of vomiting at random points during the day. I took two home pregnancy tests and they were both negative...so that ruled out the obvious. I went to the doctor a week ago and they took blood and urine samples. Those tests came back fine and in normal limits. No signs of infections or elevated white blood cell counts. Additionally, the pregnancy test came back NEGATIVE. I was scheduled for a CT Scan later in the week so I was really hoping I would finally get to the bottom of my pains.

Well, in preparation of the CT Scan I had to drink this white stuff that had a citrus taste to it. Oh my...it had to be the worst tasting stuff that I had to drink EVER! If drinking two bottles wasn't enough, I had to drink them within an hour of each other. I was able to get them down after throwing up some of the first and "accidentally" spilling some of the second down the sink. Anyway, I received a call from the nurse the other day with the results from that. Once again, my results were NEGATIVE for anything abnormal. I was a little upset with the results because I was secretly hoping something was wrong so that I would have an explanation. I immediately apologized to the nurse and repented to God for my reaction. It is a blessing to receive good news because trust me had there been bad results I would've been a mess!

So...reflecting over all of that I have come the conclusion that my feelings of discomfort are coming from non other than STRESS. I have been able to isolate times where I feel the most intense feelings and it is ALWAYS when I start thinking about my never ending list of things to do.

I have decided to take the next semester off from graduate school. I quickly arrived to this decision however now that I've made it, it has hit me and now I'm really trippin'! I have always taken pride in the fact that I can take on just about anything and come out on top. I preach to young girls all the time that you face your challenges head on and don't back down. Look at me...I'm backing down. I've shared my decision with my husband, close friends, and family and everyone seems to be in agreement with my decision. I just feel like a cop out. I know people who have juggled more than I currently am and they made it! They worked hard and stuck with it.

I don't know...I'm just a little overwhelmed right now.

Thursday, October 16, 2008

You must have been a beautiful baby....

Above is a picture of Kevin and his twin Keith. Keith sent this picture to Kevin a few days ago and I have to admit I have been staring at it ever since! I have always had a fascination with twins AND I hope and pray that I am blessed to have a set. This the first time that I've seen a picture of Kevin as a child and now I am really thinking about having children! Don't get me wrong...I still want to wait a few months before we embark on the road to parenthood.

Oh...in case anyone is wondering...Kevin is the one on the left giving everyone a free peek at his goodies! LOL!

Monday, October 6, 2008

Why did I get married?

This past weekend as an awesome weekend for Kevin and I. He had Saturday off however we both still had to work that morning. We were both done by early afternoon so we still had the rest of the day. Anyway, I knew I didn't want to do much for the rest of the day and deep down I knew he felt the same way. It's funny because it's very seldom that we are both off on the weekend so we always try to seize the moment to do something outside the house. This weekend was different though! We grabbed lunch at Arby's and decided to turn the rest of the day into a Blockbuster day!


It had been almost a year since I stepped foot into a Blockbuster! I'm really not a movie watcher but a the same time I do enjoy the quality time that it brings. We ended up purchasing four movies (Why did I get married, What happens in Vegas, Who's your Caddy, and First Sunday). Kevin and I both had already seen First Sunday...it was actually our first movie date. I had already seen "Why did I Get Married" however it was such a GREAT movie I didn't mind watching it again.


I must admit it was really interesting watching it with my husband. The first time I saw it, I was very single and actually left the theatre in a funk because I wasn't married and didn't see myself ever getting married! There were several moments during the movie where Kevin would say "I'm glad we talk about everything" or "We aren't going to keep any secrets". I have to admit there were also times where he got emotional. The movie really brings to surface things that people experience regardless of gender, race, or socio economic status.

I can say that by the end of the movie we were both glad that not only we were HAPPILY married but most importantly married to each other!