Sunday, April 20, 2008

A huge success....



Every year I strike out to make D.I.V.A.S. better than the year before. On the onset I never know exactly what it is that I want to do. I just know that I want the program to be better than the year before. I strive to keep everyone guessing as to what I am truly capable of doing. Anyway, this school year wasn't any different than how I started out last year. I knew that in the spring I would do some sort of fund raiser to bring money into the program in order to keep it afloat for the next school year. Well, last year I was able to pull of a food tasting event that yielded well over a $1300! Unfortunately I was not able to get the businesses to sign on this year because of the economy. I must admit I was heart broken because it never crossed my mind that I wouldn't be able to pull it off.

Well, as always the Lord works in mysterious ways. I witnessed something back in October on our school campus that left me really angry and motivated to do something about it. I witnessed a female student being beat by her boyfriend in broad daylight only to have students walk by and not one stopped to help her out. Needless to say I was able to get the proper officials involved to help the student but it only after she was beat for approximately ten minutes. I was so angry that in this day and age that kids have become so insensitive that they would walk on by. Due to this unfortunate ordeal, I was compelled to create a week of awareness throughout the school to put teen dating violence along with all other "taboo" issues affecting teens that off limits.

I was very impressed with my girls in D.I.V.A.S. because they were just as passionate about the issues as I was. We worked really hard to create a week's worth of activities that would be informative and hopefully create a spark within the student body as a whole. We ended the week by sponsoring a Teacher vs Student basketball game. That was fun! The teachers won!!! Check out the pictures below.



Tuesday, April 8, 2008

Going, going, gone....

So last night Kevin and I had the bright idea to shave his face. It was funny because clearly we all know that I don't do well with change. The idea scared me mainly because I'm thinking...what if I don't like his new look? I mean I know the hair will grow back in a matter of days however I had never seen him without facial hair. Here are the pictures....



Before


Half way there....


Finished Product!

I think that it's cute. It will take me some time to get completely used to it. I like it though!


Sunday, April 6, 2008

Conflict resolution....

I have been working on my master's degree in conflict resolution for the past year and it has been fun so far. It's really ironic that I would choose that field considering I do not like conflict in my personal life because it really upsets me. Don't get me wrong...I believe that conflict arises for various reasons and from it major change can happen. However, I don't personally like how I feel when I'm in conflict with someone. Recently my sister and I had some issues going on between the both of us. This was probably the first time in a very long time that we had been at odds.

Ultimately I believe the issue that caused the conflict between us was so simple however we both allowed it to escalate into something so major that it caused us not to speak to each other for over a week and a half. Needless to say things are now resolved between the both of us and things are back on the right track. I wouldn't say that we are closer than before but I will say that the lesson we both learned from the conflict is one that I think will last forever!

Saturday, April 5, 2008

Rain, rain, go away....

Well, this week has been interesting for me. It was my first full week back from spring break so that within itself was a huge adjustment. The weather has been really crazy...sunny one day and raining the next, then freezing cold after that. I mean talk about pneumonia weather! It's funny watching the kids at school break out their summer attire one day then be dressed for the Swiss Alps the next! Anyway, today has been relaxing for me. I decided early on this morning that I was tired of my house looking a certain way. I have my "OCD"moments from time and this morning just so happened to be one. I got up early and started laundry. It's not that I don't like laundry...it's just that it can be an all day thing and clearly my ADD won't support me being dedicated it for more than one load!

I was also determined today to do something about my 2nd bedroom. It has turned into a dumping ground of some sort mainly because I no longer use it as my home office. Now that I have the lap top I barely go in that room. I used my desktop computer the first time in a long time and that was only because I did my taxes and the software is loaded on that computer. I know it has been maybe 9 months or so since I have actually used that computer. I am in the process of downsizing and getting rid of the somethings. I want to get rid of my corner desk because clearly it's a big piece of furniture and a lap top will look really strange on this big ole desk. I'm giving my desktop to my niece however I have to strip it down before I do it. It's a matter of me taking time out and staying focused long enough (once again the ADD kicks in) to get it done. I have already purchased another book case and a laptop desk to go in there. I will also like to purchase a futon for that room as well so that when guests come over I won't have to give up my bed or feel guilty about not giving up my bed!

Anyway, I digress (ADD moment)...so yes I was determined to clean up today. I cleaned my hall closet which is technically the linen closet but me being me managed to put all sorts of stuff in there. I cleaned it out though and got rid of the junk I had been holding on to. I also organized the closet in the 2nd bedroom. It has turned into a storage space seeing as though I house my extra bedding, Christmas supplies, junk from college, workout equipment (that I obviously don't use), and some pieces of clothing that I don't wear. It is a little better although at some point I need to really go in and throw most of that stuff away. I just can't find it in my heart to part with some of that stuff now.

Well, it is still raining outside. Kevin won't be off work for another hour and half. Bentley is asleep on her bed she obviously got the memo that this is GREAT sleeping weather. Oh well...I guess I will work on some homework since the rain won't go away.....